Skip to content

Professor Samuel Furfari joins GWPF Academic Advisory Council

London, 18 July — The Global Warming Policy Foundation is pleased to announce that Professor Samuel Furfari, one of Europe’s most eminent energy policy analysts, has joined the GWPF’s Academic Advisory Council.

Dr Samuel Furfari is professor of energy geopolitics and energy politics since 2003 (Brussels and London). Between 1982 and 2018, he was a senior official at the Energy Directorate-General of the European Commission where he devoted an entire career to energy technology and energy policy. He is the author of 15 books on energy and sustainable development and numerous articles. Since 2019 he has been the President of the European Society of Engineers and Industrialists.

The GWPF Academic Advisory Council is composed of scientists, economists and other experts who provide the GWPF with timely scientific, economic and policy advice.

It reviews and evaluates new GWPF reports, explores future research projects and makes recommendations on issues related to climate and energy research and policy.

The other members of the GWPF Academic Advisory Council are:

Professor Christopher Essex (Chairman)
Professor Ray Bates
Sir Ian Byatt
Dr John Constable
Professor Vincent Courtillot
Professor Peter Dobson OBE
Christian Gerondeau
Professor Laurence Gould
Professor William Happer
Professor Ole Humlum
Professor Gautam Kalghatgi
Professor Terence Kealey
William Kininmonth
Bryan Leyland
Professor Richard Lindzen
Professor Ross McKitrick
Professor Robert Mendelsohn
Professor Garth Paltridge
Professor Ian Plimer
Professor Gwythian Prins
Professor Paul Reiter
Professor Peter Ridd
Dr Matt Ridley
Sir Alan Rudge FRS
Professor Nir Shaviv
Professor Henrik Svensmark
Dr David Whitehouse