Professor Christopher Essex (Chairman)

Christopher Essex is Professor in the Department of Applied Mathematics at The University of Western Ontario. He co-discovered the entropy production paradox, computed the first accurate entropy production rate for the Earth, the first accurate temperature for laser radiation, and pioneered the concept of computational over-stabilization, which has implications for climate models.

Sir Samuel Brittan

Samuel Brittan is one of Britain’s most eminent economic authors and journalists. Since 1966 he has been an economic commentator for the Financial Times where he also served as Assistant Editor.

Sir Ian Byatt

Ian Byatt is a former Director General of the Office of Water Services for England and Wales, before which he was Deputy Chief Economic Adviser in HM Treasury. From 2005-2011 he was the chairman of the Water Industry Commission for Scotland.

Dr John Constable

John Constable is a British energy analyst and the GWPF’s energy editor. 

Professor Vincent Courtillot

Vincent Courtillot is professor of geophysics at the University of Paris Diderot and Director of the Institut de Physique du Globe in Paris. He is past president of the European Union of Geosciences and currently chairs the scientific council of the City of Paris.

Professor Freeman Dyson

Freeman Dyson FRS, a world-renowned theoretical physicist, is Professor Emeritus at the Institute of Advanced Study in Princeton where he held a chair for many years. He is the author of numerous widely read science books.

Christian Gerondeau

Christian Gerondeau is an expert in transport and energy policy and was in charge of national road safety policy for France and the European Union. He is the chairman of the “Association Francophone des Climato-Optimistes” (AFCO).

Professor Laurence Gould

Laurence (“Larry”) Gould is Professor of Physics at the University of Hartford. He is Past Chair of the New England Section of the American Physical Society and is Chairman of the Executive Board of the International Symmetry Association.

Professor Ole Humlum

Dr Humlum is a former Professor of Physical Geography at the University Centre in Svalbard, Norway, and Emeritus Professor of Physical Geography at the University of Oslo. He is a member of the Norwegian Scientific Academy for Polar Research.

Professor Terence Kealey

Terence Kealey, a medical biochemist, was Vice-Chancellor of the University of Buckingham (2001-2014). His latest book is entitled Sex, Science and Profits.

William Kininmonth

William Kininmonth is a former head of Australia’s National Climate Centre and consultant to the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO) Climate Division.

Professor Deepak Lal

Deepak Lal is a British development economist of Indian origin who has held academic posts both at Oxford and at University College London. He has most recently been Professor of International Development Studies at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Professor Richard Lindzen

Richard Lindzen is Emeritus Professor of Meteorology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is known for his work on the dynamics of the middle atmosphere, atmospheric tides and ozone photochemistry, and has published more than 200 books and scientific papers.

Professor Ross McKitrick

Ross McKitrick is a Canadian economist specialising in environmental economics and policy analysis. He is a Professor in the Department of Economics at the University of Guelph, Ontario. With Stephen McIntyre, he was instrumental in exposing the fatal flaws of the so-called Hockey Stick.

Professor Robert Mendelsohn

Robert Mendelsohn is Professor of Economics at Yale University and one of the world’s leading environmental economists. He has written extensively on the economics of climate change.

Professor Garth Paltridge

Dr Paltridge is an atmospheric physicist and Emeritus Professor at the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies at the University of Tasmania. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and was a Chief Research Scientist at the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO). 

Professor Ian Plimer

Ian Plimer is Professor of Mining Geology at the University of Adelaide. He has published 60 academic papers and six books. His latest book, recently published, is entitled Heaven and Earth – Global Warming: The Missing Science.

Professor Gwythian Prins

Dr Gwythian Prins is Emeritus Research Professor at the London School of Economics, where he founded and directed the Mackinder Centre for modern geo-politics. He has researched, published and advised governments on the politics of global warming since the 1980s.

Professor Paul Reiter

Paul Reiter is Professor of Medical Entomology at the Pasteur Institute in Paris, France, and widely respected specialist in the epidemiology and control of mosquito-borne diseases.

Dr Matt Ridley

Matt Ridley is one of the world’s foremost science writers. His books have sold over 800,000 copies and been translated into 27 languages. His new book ‘The Rational Optimist’ was published in 2010.

Sir Alan Rudge

Sir Alan Rudge FRS, an electrical engineer, is Chairman of the Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851, Chairman of the ERA Foundation, former Chairman of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council,and a former member of the government Scientific Advisory Committee.

Professor Nir Shaviv

Nir Shaviv is an astrophysicist carrying out research in the fields of astrophysics and climate science at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Professor Henrik Svensmark

Henrik Svensmark is an astrophysicist and head of the Center for Sun-Climate Research at Denmark’s National Space Institute, DTU.

Professor Anastasios Tsonis

Dr Tsonis is an American atmospheric scientist and distinguished professor at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee. His research focuses on the study of climate dynamics and global change.

Professor Fritz Vahrenholt

Fritz Vahrenholt was one of the founders of the environmental movement in Germany. He has served in several public positions with environmental ministries. He is the author of the 2012 bestseller The Neglected Sun and is Chairman of the German Wildlife Trust.

Dr David Whitehouse

David Whitehouse, who has a doctorate in astrophysics, was successively BBC Science Correspondent and Science Editor BBC News Online.  He is the author of a number of books on solar system astronomy and the history of astronomy.